A
Lively
Nature
01

Follow
the guides

Welcome to the Foundation’s ecosystem. An eventful expedition awaits you!

Nicole: You are about to dive into an extremely diverse environment: philanthropy, arts, education, heritage, literature… it makes for a habitat that is teeming with biodiversity.

Sonia: As a matter of fact, this is reflected by the multiple areas of expertise present at the Foundation, areas which really contribute to increasing our outreach. Here, nothing is static: every year we rethink and enhance our programming. Our employees are constantly updating their knowledge and skills in order to move projects forward, and are not afraid to reconsider and revisit past chosen options.

Nicole: Yes, that’s right! Much like a river flowing in its bed, our environment renews itself each year. And, every time, the experience is different for each member of the expedition: directors, employees, visitors, philanthropic partners, etc.

Sonia: In recent months, we have been carried along by a number of different currents: the multiplication of partnerships, increased focus on the health and wellness of our team, the development of a risk management action plan, an intensification of our efforts to go green, and a ramping up of our knowledge sharing.

Nicole: The lively nature of the Foundation is born of passion, commitment, professionalism and creativity, all tied together with a healthy dose of good cheer and kindness. We would like to congratulate the team and the board of directors for many successful endeavours, and to thank our partners for their trust.

3 980 855 $ in grants* * including Philagora
$$$$$Philagoracapacity-building programfor organizationsHealthcareEducationCommunity supportArts and culture 109 255861 0001 309 0001 198 600503 000
114
30 239
Museum visitors,
as of closing on March 15, 2020
5 221
Cultural Centre visitors,
as of closing on March 15, 2020
02

The flora
and fauna

Flora and fauna are plants and animals that live together and form interrelationships in a particular region or ecosystem. Flora and fauna are highly diverse and help to maintain the balance of an ecosystem. They breathe, grow and exchange energy within the environment.

Just like the flora and fauna of any region, the Foundation’s team members are connected through visible and invisible ties that form and transform from one project to the next. Our employees work in symbiosis, pooling their unique characteristics, knowledge and skills and fanning the flames with enthusiasm and commitment.

Did you know that 37 different positions are held by 50 Foundation employees? Our diversity is our strength.

03

The snowy owls

The snowy owl, the official bird of Québec, has keen eyesight and excellent hearing. Snowy owls are well-known for their silent flight, and are constantly scanning their territory. They are majestic, powerful and highly adaptable.

Our history is closely connected to snow. And, like the snowy owl, our board of directors has keen vision and is able to detect the slightest movement in its surroundings, size up changes and redirect the Foundation’s strategic orientations.

The 12-member board sees to it that the Foundation has what it needs to accomplish its mission, while ensuring that its core values are upheld.

Major movements:

  • The adoption of a new succession plan policy in case of an unplanned absence of the executive director, the revision of a pandemic policy, and the ongoing improvement of the investment and rebalancing policies
  • Implementation of an integrated risk management process following the adoption of our risk management policy last year
  • Follow-up of strategic planning and financial affairs
  • Replacement of Gabriel B. Lopez, President of Fusion Jeunesse, who stepped down from the board after seven years of service, by Maxime Codère, a KPMG associate
From left to right: Paule Fontaine, Isabelle Bombardier, Louis-Armand Bombardier, Élaine Beaudoin, Maxime Codère, Sylvie Fontaine, Nicole Beaudoin, Nathalie Bissonnette, Olivier Marcil, France Bissonnette, Luce Samoisette, Luc Bachand
04

The Mixed
forest dwellers

Just as the mixed forest is home to a great diversity of species, the Foundation's internal services team is varied, versatile and effective in supporting projects from all areas of the Foundation.

Join us on the lookout for arctic foxes, river otters, common loons, American robins and beavers!

05

The valley
of the Cervidae

Cervids make up one of Québec’s most emblematic family of animals. Majestic and always alert, these bold and curious animals are king of the forest. They are easy to recognize by their antlers, and they travel great distances. Catching a glimpse of them is always a thrill!

Like cervids, the tightly knit team at the Cultural Centre and Library is impressive. Their bold multidisciplinary approach sparks curiosity among young and old alike as they take in the new attractions. The team is at the heart of Valcourt’s cultural life, with an exciting offer for audiences each season.

95 700
paper book loans
1 365
digital loans
4 931
participants at cultural activities
9 726
books delivered through Accès-livres
06

The rapids

The rapids are easily recognizable by the rocks sprinkled throughout the river, the sound of water hitting them and the effervescence of air bubbles mixing with water. The rhythm accelerates, the senses are stimulated and reflexes are sharpened.

At the J. Armand Bombardier Museum of Ingenuity, a team of 32 ingenious individuals are working together to create a unique experience where echoes of the inventor's legacy blend with the intelligence of his successors, and where visitors are challenged to activate their curiosity and creativity.

430
historical requests processed
70
vehicles displayed in our reserve
269 718
people reached by our history capsules on Facebook
2 840
elementary school students at the Museum
99%
of visitors satisfied with staff courtesy
07

Butterfly
Meadow

Lively and curious, butterflies are pollinators, and play a key role in the maintenance and growth of biodiversity. They contribute to the emergence of new plant species and are involved in the process of adaptive evolution, since they can influence plants to improve their ability to attract pollinators. Butterflies have a symbiotic relationship with their environment, feeding and pollinating at the same time.

If the philanthropic activities team had to choose one word to describe its work, it would be mutualism. Its members particularly enjoy working with various community stakeholders, creating alliances and contributing to innovation and social transformation.

What is philanthropy?

Philanthropy, much like entomology, is an unfamiliar term for many people.

We could tell you that the word comes from the Greek root meaning love for humanity; that some define it as sharing wealth; and that another, more current definition refers to a more strategic and sustainable form of charity. For non-profit organizations, philanthropy evokes the management of gifts allocated to them; for grantmaking foundations, it refers to the allocation of donations, of course, and, more and more, to impact investment and capacity building support.

For us, above all, it means being attentive to needs, believing in the experience and expertise of the organizations working in the field, acting as a vehicle of communication between different sectors and stakeholders, reflecting collectively about social issues, their causes and possible solutions, learning, sharing, collaborating, progressing, etc.

08

The portage

In the second week of March, we arrived at a stretch of challenging whitewater rapids. We were forced to land and begin a portage.

The COVID-19 pandemic arrived, and we had to take drastic measures: all group activities were suspended, and the Museum and Cultural Centre were closed until further notice.

Remote working and adapting to change became the new norm. We were able to retain all staff members through a redistribution of projects and duties. The pause imposed by the provincial government turned out to be a good time to update our databases, continue to think about our upcoming programming, become familiar with new ways of communicating and working, etc.

The Foundation continued its philanthropic activities by rallying its resources, team members, donation committee and board of directors in order to quickly adjust its response to the new challenges faced by organizations. A short-, medium- and long-term strategy was established and implemented through active monitoring of the community and the adoption of a coordinated approach with granting foundations and capacity-building actors.

At the time of writing, we are still in the portage phase. However, a committee made up of employees has been created to establish a gradual return-to-work protocol that will implement measures to ensure the health and safety of staff and visitors.

Take good care of yourselves. We’ll see you next year!

Listen to the audio clip

Credits

Art direction: Tania Jiménez, Pulpa
Programming : Mathieu Lajeunesse
Translation: Signy Glendinning
Photography: Jean-Michel Naud

Head Office

1000, J.-A.-Bombardier Ave.
Valcourt, QC J0E 2L0

bombardierfoundation.ca

De
nature
vive
01

Suivez
les guides

Soyez les bienvenus dans l’écosystème de la Fondation. C’est une expédition riche en découvertes qui vous attend.

Nicole : Vous vous apprêtez à plonger dans un milieu d’une extrême diversité : des actions philanthropiques aux arts, en passant par l’éducation, le patrimoine, la littérature, notre milieu regorge d’une biodiversité foisonnante.

Sonia : On peut d’ailleurs l’observer dans la multitude des expertises présentes qui participent au rayonnement de la Fondation. Ici, rien n’est statique : la programmation est revue et améliorée chaque année. Les employés ont à cœur de s’outiller afin de faire avancer les projets et n’ont pas peur de se requestionner.

Nicole : En effet ! Tout comme une rivière est en constant mouvement en suivant son lit, notre environnement se renouvelle chaque année. L’expérience est à chaque fois différente pour tous ceux qui prennent part à l’expédition : administrateurs, employés, visiteurs, partenaires philanthropiques, etc.

Sonia : Plusieurs courants nous ont portés ces derniers mois : la multiplication des partenariats, l’attention accrue au bien-être et à la santé de l’équipe, le développement d’un plan d’actions sur la gestion des risques, un virage vert plus prononcé et un partage des savoirs intensifié.

Nicole : La nature vive de la Fondation, c’est un croisement de passion, d’engagement, de professionnalisme et de créativité. Le tout dans la bonne humeur et la bienveillance. Félicitations à l’équipe et aux membres du conseil d’administration pour vos réussites et merci à tous nos partenaires pour votre confiance.

3 980 855 $ versés en dons* * incluant Philagora
$$$$$PhilagoraProgramme de développementdes capacités organisationnellesSantéÉducationSoutien aux communautésArts et culture 109 255861 0001 309 0001 198 600503 000
30 239
visiteurs au Musée,
en date de la fermeture,
le 15 mars 2020
5 221
visiteurs au Centre Culturel,
en date de la fermeture,
le 15 mars 2020
02

La faune
et la flore

La faune et flore, c’est l’ensemble des espèces animales et végétales vivant en interrelation dans une région ou un écosystème déterminé. D’une grande diversité, elles maintiennent l’équilibre du lieu. Elles respirent, grandissent et transforment l’énergie de l’environnement.

Comme la faune et la flore d’une région donnée, l’équipe de la Fondation est liée par de multiples liens visibles et invisibles qui se créent et se transforment au fil des projets. En symbiose étroite, les employés mettent leur unicité, leurs savoirs et leurs compétences au service de leur enthousiasme et de leur engagement.

Saviez-vous qu’il existe 37 postes différents pour 50 employés à la Fondation? Notre diversité est notre force.

03

Les harfangs
des neiges

Le harfang des neiges, oiseau emblème officiel de la province du Québec possède une vision et une ouïe extrêmement développées. Connu pour son vol silencieux, le harfang surveille continuellement son territoire. Majestueux et puissant, il sait faire preuve d’une grande adaptabilité.

Notre histoire est étroitement liée à la neige. Comme le harfang, le conseil d’administration dispose d’une vision aigüe lui permettant de capter les moindres mouvements de son environnement, d’apprécier les changements pour ajuster les orientations stratégiques de la Fondation.

Composé de 12 membres, le conseil d’administration s’assure que la Fondation dispose de tout ce dont elle a besoin pour bien accomplir sa mission, tout en veillant au maintien de ses valeurs fondamentales.

Les grands mouvements :

  • L’adoption d’une nouvelle politique de relève de la direction générale en cas d’absence imprévue, la révision de la politique de gestion d’une pandémie et la bonification en continu des politiques de rééquilibrage;
  • L’implantation d’un processus de gestion intégré des risques suite à l’adoption d’une politique en la matière l’an passé;
  • Le suivi de la planification stratégique et des affaires financières;
  • Remplacement de Gabriel B. Lopez, président de Fusion Jeunesse, qui s’est retiré du conseil après 7 ans d’engagement, par, Maxime Codère, associé chez KPMG.
De gauche à droite : Paule Fontaine, Isabelle Bombardier, Louis-Armand Bombardier, Élaine Beaudoin, Maxime Codère, Sylvie Fontaine, Nicole Beaudoin, Nathalie Bissonnette, Olivier Marcil, France Bissonnette, Luce Samoisette, Luc Bachand
04

Les habitants
de la forêt mixte

Tout comme la forêt mixte abrite une grande diversité d’espèces, l’équipe des services internes de la Fondation est variée, polyvalente et soutient efficacement les projets de tous les secteurs de la Fondation.

Accompagnez-nous dans l’observation des renards arctiques, des loutres de rivière, des huards à collier, des merles d’Amérique et des castors!

05

La vallée
des cervidés

Les cervidés forment l’une des familles animales les plus emblématiques du Québec. Majestueux et toujours aux aguets, ces animaux audacieux et curieux sont les rois de la forêt. Facilement reconnaissables par leurs bois, ils parcourent de grandes distances. Les apercevoir procure toujours des moments de belles émotions !

Tels les cervidés, l’équipe tissée serré du Centre culturel et Bibliothèque Yvonne L. Bombardier en met plein la vue! Avec audace, elle a réussi à combiner plusieurs disciplines artistiques et susciter la curiosité des petits et des grands avec ses nouveautés. Au cœur de la vie culturelle de Valcourt, elle s’est adaptée au fil des saisons pour continuer d’émouvoir ses publics.

95 700
prêts de livres papier
1 365
prêts numériques
4 931
participants aux
activités culturelles
9 726
livres transportés dans le cadre d’Accès-livres
06

La zone
des rapides

Une zone de rapides est facilement reconnaissable à ses rochers, au son de l’eau heurtant ces derniers et à sa couleur blanche due aux bulles d’air qui se mélangent à l’eau. Le rythme s’y accélère, les sens stimulés et les réflexes aiguisés.

Au Musée de l’ingéniosité J. Armand Bombardier, une équipe de 32 ingénieux solidaires et allumés s’activent à créer une expérience unique où se mélangent les échos de l’héritage de l’inventeur à l’intelligence de ses successeurs, et où les visiteurs sont mis au défi d’actionner leur curiosité et créativité.

430
requêtes à caractère historique traitées
70
véhicules mis en valeur dans la réserve
269 718
personnes touchées par les
capsules historiques sur Facebook
2 840
élèves du primaire au Musée
99%
des visiteurs satisfaits de l’accueil
07

Les berges des
papillons

Énergiques et curieux, les papillons sont des pollinisateurs qui jouent un rôle important dans le maintien et la croissance de la biodiversité. Ils contribuent à l’émergence de nouvelles espèces végétales et participent au processus d’évolution adaptative : ils influencent certaines plantes à renforcer leur capacité d’attraction. En symbiose avec leur milieu, ils se nourrissent tout en contribuant à la pollinisation.

L’équipe des activités philanthropiques se qualifie elle-même de « butineuses ». Ses membres apprécient particulièrement côtoyer les multiples acteurs du milieu, créer des liens de complicité et contribuer à l’innovation et la transformation sociale.

C’est quoi la Philanthropie?

Philanthropie, comme entomologie, est un mot que bien des gens ne pourraient définir.

Nous pourrions vous dire que le mot découle du grec et signifie amour de l’humanité, que certains le définissent comme le partage des richesses, ou encore qu’il s’agit d’une version plus actuelle, stratégique et durable de la charité. Pour les OBNL, le mot évoque la gestion des sommes qui leur sont confiées, alors que pour les fondations subventionnaires, il évoque l’attribution des dons, bien sûr, et de plus en plus, les investissements d’impacts et le soutien au renforcement des capacités.

Pour nous, il signifie avant tout être à l’écoute des besoins, faire confiance à l’expérience et l’expertise des organismes présents sur le terrain, servir de courroie de transmission entre différents secteurs et acteurs, réfléchir collectivement aux enjeux sociaux, leurs causes et aux solutions possibles, apprendre, échanger, collaborer, avancer…

08

Le portage

Au cours de la 2e semaine de mars, nous avons rencontré une zone très accidentée avec de fortes turbulences. Nous avons dû mettre pied sur la terre ferme et entreprendre une étape de portage.

La pandémie générée par la COVID-19 nous a obligés à prendre des mesures drastiques : suspension de tous les événements de groupe et fermeture du Musée et du Centre culturel jusqu’à nouvel ordre.

Le télétravail et l’adaptation sont devenus les mots d’ordre. Un exercice de répartition des projets et des tâches a été réalisé afin de maintenir tout le personnel en emploi. La pause imposée par le gouvernement provincial s’est révélée un moment propice pour mettre à jour des bases de données, continuer de réfléchir sur la programmation à venir, se familiariser avec de nouvelles façons de communiquer et de travailler, etc.

Du côté de la philantropie, la Fondation a mobilisé ses ressources, membres de l’équipe, du comité des dons et du conseil d’administration pour ajuster au plus vite sa réponse aux enjeux vécus par les organisations. Appuyée sur une vigie active du milieu et une approche concertée avec des fondations subventionnaires et acteurs de renforcement des capacités, une stratégie à court, moyen et long terme a été élaborée et mise en œuvre.

Au moment d’écrire ces lignes, l’étape de portage n’est pas encore terminée. Toutefois, un comité d’employés a été créé pour établir un protocole de retour au travail progressif qui est élaboré dans le respect des mesures nécessaires pour protéger la santé et assurer la sécurité du personnel et des visiteurs.

Prenez grand soin de vous et à l’année prochaine!

Écouter la vignette sonore

Crédits

Direction artistique: Tania Jiménez, Pulpa
Programmation : Mathieu Lajeunesse
Traduction : Signy Glendinning
Photographie : Jean-Michel Naud

Siège social

1000, ave. J.-A.-Bombardier
Valcourt, Qc J0E 2L0

fondationbombardier.ca